Rugby: Barbarians 38 v 35 Argentina

Date: Saturday 1st December 2018
Venue: Twickenham Stadium, London
Kick Off: 2:30pm
Referee: John Lacey (Ireland)
Baa-baas beat Pumas 38-35 with 90 seconds left of the game with a drop goal by number 23 Elton Jantjies (Lions & South Africa), he was the first Barbarians player to land a drop goal in 24 years. The team spirit built during the week was demonstrated on the field, as Man of the Match Lood de Jager whose second half try tied the scores at 35-35. Head coach Rassie Erasmus was delighted by how his whole team responded after trailing during the first half. Erasmus didn’t deviate from his plan to give everyone in the match day squad at least 30 minutes on the pitch.
At half-time Pumas led the Baa-baas 28-14 yet the visitors lost the game because Baa-baas tighten their game and up the tempo.

Please note all photos are strictly copyrighted. Low resolution images are displayed on this slideshow. All images are available for license/purchase. Please fill out Contact Form which is on the home page tab stating as much information as possible including image number which is below the picture or by email:
Please be patient whilst the page loads with images.

Barbarians Team
Backs: 15 Jack Debreczeni (Chiefs), 14 Tommaso Benvenuti (Benetton & Italy), 13 Tom English (Rebels & Australia), 12 Damian de Allende (Stormers & South Africa), 11 Aphiwe Dyantyi (Lions & South Africa), 10 Handre Pollard (Bulls & South Africa), 9 Leon Fukofuka (Auckland & Tonga),
Forwards: 1 Wyatt Crockett (Crusaders & New Zealand, Captain), 2 Schalk Brits (Stormers & South Africa), 3 Trevor Nyakane (Bulls & South Africa),
4 Luke Jones (Bordeaux Begles & Australia), 5 Lood de Jager (Bulls & South Africa), 6 Siya Kolisi (Stormers & South Africa),
7 Pieter-Steph du Toit (Stormers & South Africa), 8 Juan Manuel Leguizamon (Jaguares & Argentina)
Replacements: 16 Steven Kitshoff (Stormers & South Africa), 17 Malcolm Marx (Lions & South Africa),
18 Anton Peikrishvili (Cardiff Blues & Georgia), 19 Sikhumbuzo Notshe (Stormers & South Africa), 20 Jordan Taufua (Crusaders)
21 Frank Lomani (Rebels & Fiji), 22 Jesse Kriel (Bulls & South Africa), 23 Elton Jantjies (Lions & South Africa)

Argentina Team
Forwards: 1 Juan Pablo Zeiss, 2 Julian Montoya, 3 Santiago Medrano, 4 Guido Petti, 5 Matias Alemanno, 6 Pablo Matera (Captain)
7 Tomas Lezana, 8 Rodrigo Bruni
Backs: 9 Martin Landajo, 10 Joaquin Diaz Bonilla, 11 Ramiro Moyano, 12 Bautista Ezcurra, 13 Matias Orlando, 14 Sebastian Cancelliere
15 Juan Cruz Mallia
Replacements: 16 Agustin Creevy, 17 Mayco Vivas, 18 Lucio Sordoni, 19 Tomas Lavanini, 20 Santiago Grondona, 21 Tomas Cubelli
22 Jeronimo de la Fuente, 23 Santiago Carreras